how does your garden grow?

Hey, guys! I’d love to say that life is so super busy that I never have time to post all of my amazing things that I do, but sadly, that is not true. In fact, after 7pm, life gets downright boring. I watch TV, pay bills, do a load or two of laundry, and call it a night. And you know what? I kinda love it. It’s nice to veg out after a day of work or play. So, I haven’t been MAKING anything lately, and it was nice to have a break. BUT! It’s not like I haven’t been doing anything at all. Though today you wouldn’t know it (cold and rainy in NH today), the past couple weeks have been downright beautiful. It’s been great weather for digging outside.

What have I planted this year? Garden phlox, astilbe, and hosta, so far! I’ve also got some hanging petunias and a few things that were already planted when we moved in.

I took some pictures the other day when it was sunny and warm. Join me on a tour of my tiny yard! You can click on any of the photos to enlarge it and view as a photo gallery.

Up there you’ll see geraniums, the bud of a hydrangea, azaleas with killer color, a little carpet rose that hasn’t bloomed yet but is looking nice and green, and a giant, twiggy plant that blooms in the prettiest shade of light pink. When the phlox blooms it’ll be a purply color, and the astilbe (that tiny little thing that looks like a weed next to the stairs)? Who knows! I bought it at a garden club plant sale, so I’m excited to see if it thrives and spreads. Oh, and that’s my little garden helper relaxing by the pool. It sure looks like lots of pink, but the hydrangeas are white, the roses are red, and…well I could really use some yellow, I think. Buying plants is addictive!

My next endeavor, if I can manage to make time for it, is to plant some herbs in containers. My parents got me this great little greenhouse but it’s been hard to find a sunny spot for it. My goal is to fill it with edible plants this week.

My little garden(s) is/are a work in progress, but it’s so fun to do and satisfying to admire. Hopefully you’ve been able to get outside, too.

Leave a Reply

