no-sew tee-shirt craft. also, we had a baby.

I apologize for my extended absence, but I’ve been busy. Things have been a lot different with a newborn around. Changing diapers, pumping breastmilk, snuggling my baby…you know how it is with these things. I would rather have stared at my sleeping cherub’s face than craft. But things are changing. I miss doing the things that make me “me,” so I’m working on striking a balance.

I knew that I wanted to be a little creative today, but I didn’t want to make a big mess. I also had zero desire to lug the sewing machine out of its cobwebby hiding place. Did I mention I hate all my clothes these days? Enter today’s project: a no-sew tee-shirt refashioning (I hate the term “hack,” though I’m not sure why). I found the pattern here: http://wobisobi.blogspot.com/2012/07/no-sew-halter-3-diy.html.

Actually, the WobiSobi blog has tons of awesome tee ideas. Some are more complicated than others. You should definitely check it out.

Start with a tee. I wish I used one that was a bit bigger, as a little flow would have been nice.

Start with a tee. I wish I used one that was a bit bigger, as a little flow would have been nice.

Make cuts as recommended.  The instructions were very easy to follow.

Make cuts as recommended. The instructions were very easy to follow.

Final step before putting it on!

Final step before putting it on!

Finished! I was done in about 10 minutes, start to finish.

Final product! I was done in about 10 minutes, start to finish.

Things that would make this better: if I’d used a larger shirt, if I didn’t need a bra, and if I’d used chalk to plan my cuts (I just eyeballed it). It was a fun, free (I already had the shirt), and quick project. I’d recommend doing something similar if you’ve got a big ol’ tee-shirt somewhere that’s dying to be worn again.

Oh, and because she’s just so sweet:

My two loves!

My two loves!

I’d love to see other tee-shirt change-ups that you’ve done!

4 thoughts on “no-sew tee-shirt craft. also, we had a baby.

Leave a Reply

