apples and spice and everything nice

I’m so happy my parents were able to instill a love of baking into their children; there’s nothing quite like a brownie on a bad day, or piece of apple pie to finish off the perfect week. We three siblings will find any excuse to bake, really, (check out my sister’s music and baking blog at The Kitchen in Stereo) and this cake is no exception.

My brother and I went apple picking last Friday and I ended up with about 12 or 13 pounds of enormous apples. They had been sitting on my counter for a week, so it was high time I made something with them! I’ll probably be making another appley treat today, but two days ago all I really wanted was something sweet that was easy to eat.

When I think of apple desserts, the first thing that comes to mind is, of course, pie. But then there’s making the crust or crumb topping, and the fact that it can be messy eating, and the cutting of all those apples… I just wasn’t into it. I turned to the Betty Crocker cookbook for answers. I have other cookbooks, some of them specific to baking, but Betty Crocker always seems to know where it’s at. This recipe can be found on page 72 of the 1990 edition of the Betty Crocker Cookbook. It’s easy and fun (and you only have to cut three apples!).

Laziness at its finest...I can't even be bothered to type out the recipe.

Laziness at its finest…I can’t even be bothered to type out the recipe.

First, my recipe updates/changes: I did not have nutmeg, so I subbed in pumpkin pie spice instead, which includes cinnamon, nutmeg, and a few other things. It was just fine. I also accidentally omitted the baking soda (I confess I was on the phone at the time of baking and got a little sloppy with the recipe). The good news is that even though it didn’t rise much, it still tasted delightful. Just imagine how much prettier it will be when you make it WITH baking soda!

Big apple chunks.

Big apple chunks.

I cut my apples into big chunks for two reasons: 1. I didn’t feel like chopping forever, and 2. I LOVE a nice warm hunk of apple. I’ve been eating pieces of this cake warmed up in the microwave because those apples really shine when they have a little heat.

Le finished product. Could have browned for a few more minutes.

Le finished product. It could have browned for a few more minutes.

Looking back, I kind of wish I’d left it in for maybe 3 or 4 more minutes to get it extra brown on top, but Pete and I were so excited to eat it that we couldn’t wait. It was still tasty, I assure you.

Look at those chunks!

Look at those chunks!

All in all, I’d say it was a successful experience. Two days later and it’s still good. In fact, I just had a piece for breakfast, polished off with a nice cold glass of almond milk.

What’s your favorite thing to bake this season?

3 thoughts on “apples and spice and everything nice

  1. This is too funny….clearly we are related because I made Betty Crocker’s apple crisp on Sunday! Good ol’ Betty knows how to make her some mean apple dishes! Delicious!

Leave a Reply

