let’s pretend this is “young house love”

Hi!

It’s been so long! You’ll have to forgive me, I’ve been busy. You see, we’ve moved. We bought a house to call our very own, and now it’s one big ol’ never-ending project (Love from the Project House?). We may no longer be in apartment three, but we’re still makin’ stuff (and fixin’ stuff, and puttin’ stuff away, and hangin’ stuff up…). Scroll to the bottom for photos of our new space!

Also, a few months back I mentioned I’d be interested in starting a crafty club. “Makin’ Stuff Monday” has been going on since March, and it’s a big success! People come the first Monday evening of the month with their own projects to work on, and we’ve seen lots of cool things come out of it so far. My friends and family are so creative! I wish I took pictures of all the previous projects. I only remembered to use my camera today, and we only did one project: I helped my mom turn a men’s tee shirt into a more feminine, close-fitting style. The sleeves were long and baggy, and so was the rest of the shirt. I trimmed it on the sides using a second shirt she had as a guide. We also used the second shirt’s sleeves as a kind of pattern for the baggy sleeves. All in all I’d say it was a success, but the armpits were a real pain. As usual, I was winging it, and the armpits just came out weird. Oh well. At least nobody sees them much.

Mumsie working on ripping out some stitches in those pesky armpits.

Mumsie working on ripping out some stitches in those pesky armpits.

The finished product! I wish I had a "before" shot, but believe me, it was not flattering. Also, go B's!

The finished product! I wish I had a “before” shot, but believe me, it was not flattering. We cut about 4″ off the sleeve length. Also, go B’s!

More about the house: I’m so, so excited, but also slightly overwhelmed. The previous owners did lots of nice things to spruce up this 1956 Cape-style home, but it still needs our loving touches. And that’s okay, because that’s what’ll make it OUR home! But until then, I think you can expect to see lots of posts relating to home improvements. Any and all advice that you’ve got will always be welcome–we’re new at this! I think this summer’s big projects will be the upstairs bedroom (future project room!) with that nasty old faux-wood paneling, and maaayybeee a patio. We finally have a yard so it’d be great to have a space to eat and use our new fire pit. On to the pics!

Dining room!

Dining room!

Kitchen part 1. I love the 1950's flare.

Kitchen part 1. I love the 1950’s flare.

Kitchen part 2. Thoughts on that corner? I think it's kind of crowded.

Kitchen part 2. Thoughts on that corner? I think it’s kind of crowded.

Porch! So many windows!

Porch! So many windows! A sofa would be a great addition.

Living room!

Living room!

Future project room that is a giant project in and of itself.

Future project room that is a giant project in and of itself.

Our bedroom! Needs...something.

Our bedroom! Needs…something. Curtains? Rug? Wall art? All three?

My favorite piece of art in the whole place. Can't wait to put this crazy cat up somewhere.

My favorite piece of art in the whole place. Can’t wait to put this crazy cat up somewhere.

Chair that I am determined to reupholster.

Chair that I am determined to reupholster.

So many future projects just waiting to be tackled! Until then, we’ll just keep unpacking. πŸ™‚

-Courtney

2 thoughts on “let’s pretend this is “young house love”

  1. Your house is so cute, inspirational, so cozy, so YOU! I can’t wait to come back and visit and make memories there. So happy for you and Pete and thankful for you in our lives. Will there be a Makin’ Stuff Monday this July?

    • Thank you! We love you guys and can’t wait for you to make some fine memories here, as well. πŸ™‚ Glad we saw you at Makin’ Stuff Monday (and thanks for din din on Monday night!).

Leave a Reply

