little coasters

Actually, they are about the size of a regular coaster. I used some old 4.5″ square ceramic tiles my mom had given me for craft purposes and decided that tonight was the night for a tile transformation. The illustrations come from a 1950s abridged copy of Little Women that was donated to the library. We weren’t going to keep it for the collection, but the illustrations were so charming that I decided to bring it home and see what I could do with the book. I’m happy I also had some scrapbook paper lying around that I could play with.

Two black tiles and two white tiles waiting to be transformed!

Two black tiles and two white tiles waiting to be transformed! (Sorry, these pics were taken with my phone and they aren’t the greatest).

Title page from the book. So pretty! I used all the bits of these flowers.

Title page from the book. So pretty! I used all the bits of these flowers.

Aside from the insane headache I got from being in close proximity to Mod Podge for an extended period of time, I’d say they were a success! I really like how they turned out. I’m still not quite finished, because I want to tidy up the edges with some cloth bias tape, but I don’t think my brain can handle more fumes tonight. I won’t post a tutorial because really, they were pretty straightforward: layer of Mod Podge on tile, put a piece of paper on top, then use the MP as glue to stick on other shapes as desired. Slather MP over the whole thing when you’re done. The one thing I think I should mention is that Mod Podge is NOT water resistant, so in order for these to be workable coasters, I’ll have to seal them with something else. I’ll leave that and the bias tape for tomorrow.

Almost-finished product.

Almost-finished product.

Jo! I think this coaster is my favorite.

Jo! I think this coaster is my favorite.

The whole gang, minus Amy. She kind of sucks, anyway.

Almost the whole gang.

 

 

In other news, it has been a long time since I’ve updated and I’ve missed this blog! In my downtime I’ve hosted TWO “Makin’ Stuff Mondays” (crafting/building gatherings at my home for anyone who wanted to join), completed another origami program AND a three-week children’s sewing program at work, AND we put an offer on an adorable little house and the offer was accepted!!! So, rest assured that more house news will be forthcoming. I’m going to try and take some pictures of the next Makin’ Stuff Monday so that other people’s crafts can get featured on this blog.

 

As always, thanks for checking in. Tell me what you think of the coasters (and any good ideas for products to seal them?).

 

-Courtney

One thought on “little coasters

Leave a Reply

