d.i.y. heart warmers

As I said in my last post, I have a big bag of feed corn just collecting dust on the floor of the project room for the purpose of making corn bag bed warmers. Since temperatures have been in the single digits here in New Hampshire, my first thought this morning was to use the corn to make little hand warmers. They can be heated up in the microwave (or, according to the responses on this post, on a very low temp in your actual oven*), and placed in you coat pockets when you head out into the elements.

This is a great project for using scraps, and I bet it would be really cute if each piece of flannel was different from the rest. This is also an ideal project for hand sewers, and would be a nice activity to do with older children. As for me, this is a project for one of my Facebook friends that (re)posted that crafty 2013 resolution status! I won’t say who. 🙂

Materials: 

-4 pieces of cotton flannel

-cotton thread

-1 cup of feed corn

Step 1: Gather your materials, and cut your shapes. I chose a heart, but a small square might be easiest. 4″ x 4″ is a good size.IMG_0520

IMG_0525

 

Step 2: Separate your four pieces into couples, and have the rights sides face each other. You should be left with two bags-to-be, with the wrong sides facing out. Sew the perimeter of the shape, leaving about a 1.5″ gap, so you can fill the shape with corn.

IMG_0521

 

IMG_0522

 

I backstitched over each end of the opening to strengthen it.

Step 3: Turn your shape inside out, so that the right side of the fabric is on the outside and you can see it.

Step 4: Fill ‘er up! I put about 1/4-1/2 cup of corn in each bag. Do whatever feels right to you. Mine are still a bit floppy, so if you like a firmer hand warmer, fill it up a bit more.

IMG_0524

 

 

Step 5: Close the gap by hand. I used a ladder stitch with thread that matched my fabric. I learned how to do this wonderful hidden stitch here.

IMG_0527

Step 6: You’re done! Heat those puppies up in the microwave for about a minute and a half on high. Stick ’em in your pockets on a cold winter day, or put them at the bottom of your bed to keep your toes nice and toasty at night.

Heart-warming heart warmers.

Heart-warming heart warmers.

 

It’s almost Valentine’s Day! What an adorable gift these would make for your special sweetie. Let me know what you think!

*I have no idea about this conventional oven thing, I just figured I’d throw it out there. According to the post, you can preheat the oven on low. Then, shut it off, put your warmers on a cookie tray, and stick them in for a few minutes until warm. It seems like a fire hazard, but if you keep your eye on it, maybe it’s fine? Try it at your own risk.

Leave a Reply

