craft gatherings

I’m thinking about starting a craft club. I’m still not sure how it will work (bring what you’re already working on? learn a new craft each month?), or who will come (should it be open to everyone I know? to the public? or small and invite-only?), or where it will even be (my place could probably comfortable house 5 crafters, but beyond that, it’s not a great spot).

Right now I’m leaning toward inviting a few people personally, just to gauge interest. I know there are a few groups out there where you can meet new people, and I think eventually I’d like this to turn into something like that. Perhaps we could borrow space at the library for all of us! I want people to be able to get new ideas, meet new people, and also add to their own productivity.

I’ve been in a severe winter slump, and the best way to get over it is to start a new project!

Oh, and speaking of projects, did I mention I made corn bags for Christmas presents? They were perfectly easy, and are a wonderfully thoughtful, practical gift. I used this design to make them. I didn’t end up adding any fancy trim, and I also made sure my inner bag was split into three equal sections, to keep the corn as evenly distributed as possible. I didn’t take any pictures while I was working on Christmas gifts, but there’s still lots of corn leftover, so I will definitely be making some more.

In the meantime, I’m curious to know what you would want to see in a crafting club. Tell me!

Leave a Reply

