Christmas time’s a-comin’

I haven ‘t been updating much lately because Christmas is on its way, and here at LFTPR, it has been BUSY. Three gingerbread building parties, Christmas shopping and crafting, making gifts, baking and cooking… Huh. I guess our holiday season sounds a lot like everyone else’s!

I felt pretty proud of myself today for using my Thursday morning wisely–making a from-scratch supper that Pete and I can enjoy when we are off doing our own things tonight (I’m working, he’s rehearsing). I made Guinness beef stew using this recipe, and baked biscuits using this recipe. Both came out DELICIOUS, so I highly recommend.

All around the internet I read tales of biscuits gone awry. These were easy!

All around the internet I read tales of biscuits gone awry. These were easy!

Carrots, onion, mushrooms, beef, Guinness, and some spices.

Carrots, onion, mushrooms, beef, Guinness, and some spices.

 

I’m thinking it’s going to be a very tasty supper!

Oh! And this past weekend my family helped me stage a fabulous gingerbread party at the library! We had a few pieces left over, so Pete and I decided to build this on Sunday afternoon. That gingerbread beauty took us four hours to complete:

100_7098

I’ve promised myself that I won’t eat any of it until after Christmas. We’ll see!

Those gumdrop flowers are definitely my favorite part.

The gumdrop flowers are definitely my favorite part.

I hope you all have a joyous holiday!

2 thoughts on “Christmas time’s a-comin’

Leave a Reply

