halloween 2012

Before I even begin this post, I need to say: I’m not sure this costume is going to work out. Now that it’s all done, I have serious doubts about my ability to actually wear it, given that it is a two-dimensional piece of clothing, and I have many…er…shapes. Before I started making it I figured it would just hover pleasantly somewhere in front of me. Now, I have my doubts. At least it looks good!

My paper doll costume was inspired by this: http://familyfun.go.com/magazine/familyfun-magazine-archive/familyfun-october-2011/paper-doll-1024824/. I think I originally saw it on Prudent Baby. I saw it and thought: EASY! This year, I didn’t feel like I had the desire to make something totally difficult (read: something that required a dress pattern, a million pieces, different fabrics, grommets, etc.). But I knew I had to have some kind of fun costume, especially working in the children’s area of a library. I’ll have storytime that day! I need something to show off to the babies!

I guess the one thing I didn’t count on was boobs. I do think with minor adjustments to the back straps, I can make this sucker work. I’ll keep you posted.

On to the craft!

Step 1: Have someone trace your outline on a piece of foam board.

Step 2: Cut out the shape you like.

Step 3: Paint.

FYI: giant maps work GREAT as drop cloths!

Step 4: Keep painting.

Step 5: The next day, paint some more because you are SO excited about how it’s coming out!

I wasn’t sure about the black outlining at first, but now I’m really glad I did it. It gives it a more cartoony “drawn” feeling.

Step 6: While you’re waiting for the black paint to dry, start another craft! I collected some pretty leaves on a walk the other day and wanted to use a mason jar, Mod Podge, and leaves to create a pretty candle holder. I obviously didn’t press my leaves long enough, because they got crinkly again, making them extremely hard to work with. I improvised by grabbing some paper and ripping it up into long strips and using that as a backdrop against two of the flatter leaves I had.

Materials: foam brush, Mod Podge, mason jar, real-life leaves from a nice fall walk.

Smearing Mod Podge on that a-hole leaf. It was so crinkly! It’s my own fault.

Semi-finished product. I’m still waiting for it to dry. Depending on its ability to throw light in a pretty way, it’s either going to be a candle holder/luminary or a toothbrush holder.

Step 7: Paint’s dry! Hot glue the sleeves on. I also had mixed feelings about the sleeves because the shape of the dress doesn’t really lend itself to puffy sleeves. But, in true Anne of Green Gables fashion, I eventually felt the puffed sleeves were a necessity.

I also took this opportunity to glue on the side tabs and the straps. I got the advice on the straps from the Family Fun website. I think I might end up cutting them off and trying something different.

Step 8: Step back and enjoy your finished product! Don’t try it on yet…allow this feeling of success to last as long as possible before you fully understand the futility of wearing a 2D dress in a 3D world. Did I mention the paint made the foam board curl AWAY from the body? Right. Futile.

So cute, right? Sigh. Not giving up yet, just taking a breather.

Whew! It’s been a productive two days. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

